TN Handgun Safety Course

Prerequisites:

None

Open To:

All

Purpose:

The citizens of the state of Tennessee have the right to keep and bear arms for their common defense; but the General Assembly has the power, by law, to regulate the wearing of arms with a view to prevent crime. Any resident of Tennessee who has reached twenty-one (21) years of age may apply to the Department of Safety for a handgun permit. If the applicant is not prohibited from purchasing or possessing a firearm in this state pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. ยง39-17-316 or 39-17-1307(b), 18 U.S.C. 9 (g) or any other state or federal law and the applicant otherwise meets all of the requirements, the Department of Safety shall issue a permit to the applicant.

Length:

8 hours beginning at 9:00 am

Price:

$75.00

General Overview:

This course takes the novice through the steps needed to meet the requirements for a TENNESSEE HANDGUN CARRY PERMIT. The largest portion of time is spent in the classroom with videos, lecture, and discussion. There is a written test on which a score of 70% or better is required to pass. The test is multiple choice and true/false and covers basic, common sense firearms safety and handling.

Classroom work includes lecture material on: Nomenclature, Safety, legal Issues, Fundamentals of Marksmanship, Cleaning, and Storage, just to name a few topics.

Range work for this extensive class will cover such topics as:

  • Proper sight alignment
  • Proper trigger pull
  • Loading / Unloading
  • Grip and Stance
  • Just to name a few topics

Required Equipment:

  • Safe and serviceable SEMI-AUTO pistol or revolver
  • 100 rounds of ammunition
  • Hearing and Eye Protection are MANDATORY
  • Student should bring a sack lunch (Water will be provided by Dodd & Associates
  • Baseball Style hat